Who are the Grunt Girls?


We are two ordinary women who have a passion for running, cycling, mountain biking, trail running, triathlon …
After training together for the past year, Andrea Chisnell and  Stacy Rhea,  decided to team up and create a club and racing team that will inspire, motivate, encourage, support and guide women of all abilities and ages from the sideline to the finish line.

Each gal brings something different to the table. Our experience is diverse, we  have been racing and particiapting in various events for more than six years. 

Until our Web site goes live, we are posting who we are for you to see, we are just like you. We hope you join us sometime for a training ride or run. We always have fun.

Andrea Headshot

Andrea Chisnell
Co-Founder/Sales & Marketing Grunt Girl Racing
Age: 42
Residence: Stow, Ohio
Hometown: Dryden, Mich.
Occupation: Sales Supervisor, Lawson Products, Inc.
Education: Bachelor of Arts in Fine & Applied Arts, Central Michigan University

I’m addicted to training, working out and simply being an over-achiever athletically speaking. I was a four-year letter winner, playing volleyball at Central Michigan University, ending my career in 1998 after spending seven years playing on the beach. In 2002 I took up cycling, participating in my first endurance event, completing the 100-mile ride around Lake Tahoe with the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Northern Ohio Chapter. The cycling itch stuck with me as I continued volunteering time and energy with the LLS through coaching the Tahoe and Sea Gull teams over the last two seasons. 

On the running front, I completed my first 10K, biathlon and ran two 5Ks in 2008. In the spring of 2009 I began trail running with plans to participate in a few races this fall with a competitive focus on the 2010 races. In June 2009 I completed my first Olympic triathlon with two more scheduled for late summer.

Along with an incredible team of diverse women, athletes and professionals, I’m very excited for the future of Grunt Girl Racing and the opportunity it offers to women athletes of all levels and accomplishments. I look forward to our team providing a forum to truly make a difference for all women seeking the venue to release their inner athlete!

Race Highlights:
2002-2009:
America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride – Lake Tahoe
Sea Gull Century – Salisbury, Md.
Towpath Marathon 10K
Belfair Biathlon
Northcoast Running Autumn Leaves 5K
Hermes Pigskin 5K
Hermes 10-Miler
Fat Rabbit Racing International Olympic Triathlon

 Upcoming Events 2009:
July: Sweet Corn Challenge
August: Greater Cleveland Olympic Triathlon
August: Twilight Trail 8K
August: Bellfair Biathlon
September: STOMP Bicycle Adventure
September: Akron Women’s Triathlon
November: Autumns Leaves 5-Miler

OSF HEAD BLOGSHOT

Stacy Rhea
Co-founder/President Grunt Girl Racing
Age: 42
Residence: Stow, Ohio
Hometown: Bainbridge, Ohio
Education: Associates degree in visual communications; pursuing a bachelor’s degree in publications at Kent State University.
Occupation: Editor, Ohio Sports & Fitness magazine


I have been active in sports since I was 8. Volleyball and softball were my primary focuses; even as a child I loved the idea of putting my skills to the test. I ran my own personal training and nutritional consulting business for 15 years. I have worked with hundreds of men and women from all walks of life and have helped dozens of athletes enhance their performance. I have also worked for two of the largest sports supplement companies, EAS and MetRx. Today, the foundation of my life is built on putting my experience to use to help others pursue their athletic abilities and goals. 

  After high school my interests began to change. My new focus was improving my physical appearance. At age 26, I began competing in natural bodybuilding shows. After three competitions and 10 years of pounding iron, I was bored and decided it was time to try something new. Since running and cycling were my weekly recreational activities, duathlon was a natural choice for me.  

In 2003, at age 36, I participated in the Huntington Beach Duathlon, an NCN Racing event. I was so new to the sport; I knew nothing about fueling strategies, gels, sports drinks etc. I used my 12-year old mountain bike and carried a single water bottle with me for the entire event. The race took me more than an hour and 40 minutes to complete. When it came time for the second run, my legs felt like lead. Despite the heaviness of my legs, and being exhausted after that event, I was hooked.

 In the past seven years I have participated in a variety of events, from sprint triathlons to half-Ironman’s to ultra-distance trail running (Buckeye Trail 50K) as well as numerous half-marathons and 10Ks.

 Although I am competitive, I am not an elite athlete. I am not winning events or placing in the top of my age group… OK once in a while I do, but for me multi-sports is about staying fit, having a focus and spending time with healthy and positive women who have the same interests as me.

Grunt Girl Racing was established to inspire and support women of all ages and abilities to get off the side lines and into the race. We all start somewhere. Why not with the help of those who have been in your shoes?

Race Highlights
2003: Huntington Beach Duathlon, Bellefaire JCB Biathlon
2004: Buzzard Duathlon, Summer Duathlon, Blossom Run, River Run half-marathon
2005: Triathlon Kick-off (sprint), Greater Cleveland Triathlon (half-Ironman), River Run half-marathon, Akron marathon relay
2006: Greater Cleveland Triathlon (half-Ironman)
2007: BT50K, Towpath half-marathon
2008: BT25K, Autumn Leaves 5-Miler
2009: Fat Rabbit International Triathlon, TOSRV (century)

Upcoming Events 2009
July: Sweet Corn Challenge
August: Greater Cleveland Triathlon (OLY)
August: Twilight Trail 8K
August: Bellefaire JCB Biathlon
September: STOMP Bicycle Adventure
September: Akron Women’s Triathlon
October: Tow Path 10K
November: Autumn Leaves 5-Miler

 


One thought on “Who are the Grunt Girls?

  1. Ladies

    It was a pleasure to meet you this past summer. I’ve been talking this up to my clients for the last several months and will be including a link to this blog in my next e-mail newsletter (with your permission of course).
    I am totally jazzed about what you are doing with this.
    Keep up the great work!!!
    And please let me know how else I can be of assistance.

Leave a Reply

