New Year Resolutions


GGR New Year’s resolutions, fitness edition
The start of a new year is a clean slate. I [Jennifer Dietrich] asked some of the GGs what their fitness goals are for the 2012 season, and here’s what they had to say. Like me, I’m sure you’ll be very impressed with the gusto of our girls.

Gale Connor: “To master heart rate training, do my first 24 hour run, first 50 miler, and first 100K!”

Amy Maddock: “My 2012 fitness resolution is run a 10K trail race and do a biking tour.”

Jen Dietrich: “My fitness resolution is to improve my biking performance in the triathlon and to train even harder for my first Olympic distance tri this August.”

Teresa Stanek: “My main resolution is to build more muscle and stay lean and healthy. Like a lot of us, I also want to improve my biking and swimming for triathlon season, but as long as I am strong and healthy, I think it will all work out.”

Beth Madis: “I hope to drop 20, add swimming at least once per week (so that I can enjoy the tri’s instead of solely opting for du’s), and do core training specifically designed to keep stress fractures away!”

Melissa Looney: “My 2012 fitness resolution is to establish a consistent training regiment to help me focus on increasing my trail running endurance and distance, getting out on my bike more than in 2011, and to add regular strength training to my routine.”

Diana Leroux-Woolf: “My fitness resolution is to be even more Diva-licious than last year by extending my running mileage comfort zone.”

Lee Conor: “I resolve to not get myself so over-trained and over-race this year that I wind up having to spend 2-3 weeks doing almost nothing in order to recover.”

Frankie Smith: “My 2012 resolution is to continue to get help for my depression and try to get back the person I was before the suicide of a friend and my breast cancer.”

Elizabeth Sosen: “My 2012 fitness resolution is to do yoga/Pilates at least once a week.”

Andrea Chisnell: “My two weaknesses are swimming and road running. So, in 2012 I plan to be faster on the road, running a 1/2 marathon in February and …conquering my fear of swimming and participating in more tri’s this year.”

Jill Malusky: “Mine is to be as consistent as possible with my training and stay strong – no slacking off! I want to be able to complete ultra trail marathons more comfortably.”

Shelly Ferdon Breeden: “My new year’s resolution is to manage my work time and allot more time for training. This year I would like to commit my efforts to perform better.”

Jessica Maas: “My 2012 resolution is to be more BADASS & up my cross training game.”

Lydia Heemstra: “My 2012 fitness resolution is to stick to my training plan while starting school.”

Kate McConkey: “My 2012 fitness resolution is to get back to 100%, no more injuries and work on more endurance training.”

Megan Flanigan: “Complete full marathon, more water, more yoga, and control over my body fat percentage; ride bike from my house to Rocky River and back – hopefully some peeps will join me.”

Christ Petryszyn: “In 2012, I am going to run my first ultra and run a 3:20 marathon. I also plan to explore other activities such as yoga, rock climbing and backpacking to add some variety into my athletic life.”

Karen Ryan: “My 2012 fitness resolution is to keep healing this body by keeping restorative, low-impact forms of fitness such as yoga, walking and Pilates in my routine year-round.”

One thought on “New Year Resolutions

Leave a Reply

